Virginia Tech®home

BMVS Graduate Student Association

About Us

VA-MD Vet Med's Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences (BMVS) Graduate Student Association serves to represent the graduate students and residents of the college, including those at the University of Maryland in College Park and the Marion duPont Scott Equine Medical Center in Leesburg, Virginia.

Our Mission

  • To promote academic, socio-cultural, and service opportunities, as well as unity among graduate students, interns, and residents in the BMVS program.
  • To act as a source of information for BMVS graduate students, interns, and residents on matters pertaining to survival and success in the program.
  • To provide a forum to address the educational needs of BMVS graduate students, interns, and residents and to offer guidance to resolve academic concerns.

Officers

Officer Name Email address
President Alessandra Franchini alessf9@vt.edu
Vice President/President-Elect Margaret Nagai-Singer margretann12@vt.edu
Secretary Casey Hensley lhcasey@ct.edu 
Tresurer Holly Morrison hamorrison18@vt.edu
Social Chair Tristan Stoyanof tstoy@vt.edu
Resident Representative Valentina Stevenson valents@vt.edu
Resident Representative Anna Hassebroek ahassbr@vt.edu
SCAVMA Representative Allie Kaloss akaloss@vt.edu
Main Campus GSA Rep.
Christina Chuong cc6re@vt.edu
Main Campus GSA Rep.
Cody Swilley codys20@vt.edu
Diversity and Inclusion Rep. Telvin Harrell telvin@vt.edu
One Health Rep. Juselyn Tupik jdtupik@vt.edu

Contact and Connect

  • If you have questions about the BMVS GSA, please contact President Alessandra Franchini. 
  • Follow BMVS GSA on Instagram @vt.bmvs.